top of page
  • Writer's pictureEditor

Awards for bravery and professionalism

Hampshire Constabulary officers and staff, Hampshire Fire Service officers and staff, members of the community and local volunteers were honoured at the Safer North Hampshire Community Safety Awards recently.

Attendees gathered from across Basingstoke & Deane, Hart District and Rushmoor Borough for the annual event, held at Farnborough College of Technology, to receive commendations for bravery, professionalism and volunteer work.

Winners were congratulated by the Mayor and Mayoress of Basingstoke and Deane Borough, Cllr Paul Frankum and Cllr Jane Frankum.

Recipients of awards included:

• Hartley Wintney Fire Station Co-Responder team, which assists South Central Ambulance Service in their response to emergency calls.

• Hampshire Constabulary, Festival Place Shopping Centre in Basingstoke and an employee of Lloyds Bank received an award for their response to an incident where an older person was being pressured to withdraw a large sum of money by suspected rogue traders.

• Youth worker Simon Mahony, from The Source Young People’s Charity, based in Aldershot, was honoured for his support of young people in Rushmoor – in particular, his work in mental health issues, risky behaviour or anger management issues.

• Local volunteers receiving awards included Mike Coe, who won an award for his commitment to Neighbourhood Watch in Basingstoke & Deane.

• Commander of Aldershot Garrison, Lt. Col Mac MacGregor received an award for his support and assistance in forging strong partnership links between local agencies and the Army within the Safer North Hampshire Community Safety Partnership. Lt. Col MacGregor is due to retire this summer.

• A unique partnership between Hampshire Fire and Rescue Service Community Safety Officers and the NHS Community Care Team, which highlights the benefit of partnership working for the improved care of vulnerable members of the community, was also honoured.

Other attendees at the ceremony included Hampshire Fire and Rescue Service Group Commander Ryan Thurman and Chief Inspector Matthew Reeves from Hampshire Constabulary.

Cllr Simon Bound, chairman of the Safer North Hampshire Partnership, said: “This award ceremony always serves to remind us of the amazing work being carried out every day in every way in North Hampshire. The awards demonstrate individual and collective dedication by professionals and volunteers working in partnership to make our communities safer.”

The next award ceremony will be held in early 2019, with nominations opening in Autumn 2018.

Hampshire Constabulary, Festival Place, suspected rogue trader group

Recent Posts

See All

The new Bishop’s Waltham Fire Station was officially opened on Monday 27th March. The current crew welcomed local dignitaries and senior officers to the Lower Lane site for the official opening of the

Fareham Borough Council is delighted to be partnering with the Solent Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) to launch an innovative new mentoring programme for business start-ups. The Fareham Start-Up La

bottom of page