• Editor

The Ageas Bowl Named ICC World Test Championship Final Host Venue

Hampshire Cricket are delighted to announce The Ageas Bowl has been selected as the host venue for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship Final in 2021.

The Ageas Bowl, which will be known as The Hampshire Bowl for the fixture, will host one of the biggest matches in world cricket this summer after the ICC today announced the venue as the first ever host of the competition’s showpiece fixture between India and New Zealand, beginning on Friday 18th June.

Following its launch in 2019, the ICC World Test Championship will reach a climax this summer as the two top teams go head-to-head in a five-day Test Match at The Ageas Bowl, competing to be crowned ICC World Test Champions.

India secured their place in the final following their series victory over England, finishing on top of the WTC ladder after picking up 520 points from their 17 fixtures. New Zealand earned qualification after winning seven of their 11 Tests to finish with a 70% win-rate from their five qualifying series.

Following hot-on-the-heels of a 2020 schedule which saw the home of Hampshire Cricket host nine international fixtures – with all matches played behind-closed-doors as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic – the venue will provide a secure and comfortable environment for all participants, officials and spectators.

Hampshire Cricket Chairman, Rod Bransgrove, said: “We are honoured and delighted that The Ageas Bowl has been appointed as the host venue for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship Final. I should like to sincerely thank the ICC for this huge demonstration of confidence in our capabilities and the ECB for its significant support of the venue as host of what will be the biggest Test Match event ever staged.

“I am sure our immense pride at bringing this fixture to Hampshire will be shared by all our loyal staff, supporters and sponsors as well as our unwavering partners, Eastleigh Borough Council. We will do everything in our power to ensure that this inaugural ICC World Test Championship Final is a secure, entertaining and successful event for everyone.’’

The ICC World Test Championship launched in August 2019, comprising of the top nine ranked teams on the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings, with teams competing in six series each across two years and points awarded based upon the result of each fixture. The competition, which was introduced to bring further context to bilateral Test cricket, honours the importance of the longest format of the game whilst ensuring a pinnacle event for the format.

Fans can pre-register their interest in tickets and hospitality for the ICC World Test Championship Final at www.icc-cricket.com/world-test-championship/tickets, with further details to be announced shortly.

This summer will also see The Ageas Bowl host a Vitality IT20 between England and Sri Lanka on Saturday 26th June.

To find out more about The Ageas Bowl’s Vitality IT20, please visit www.ageasbowl.com/cricket.

Recent Posts

See All

Recovery funding for leisure centres

Several leisure centres in Hampshire have been successful in bids to the National Leisure Recovery Fund (NLRF). The fund was established to support eligible public sector leisure services to reopen to

Ordnance Survey reveals secrets of towns and cities

Ordnance Survey is launching a ‘Secret Stories’ app to banish lockdown blues and turn family walks into mini-adventures. The Secret Stories app is free to download and brings towns and cities to life,

Otters appear across city

Winchester Business Improvement District (BID) is aiming to bring the local business community together to show its appreciation for all key workers by hosting an Otter Trail. The trail will be a free

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Click to find us on Facebook and Twitter

© 2021 Hampshire Media